Log in or Register
Metropolitan Police 3
Alves (9'), Taylor (12' pen), sub (67')
1 Kingstonian
Bombelenga (46')
Metropolitan Police

K's open their 2022-23 pre-season

The Lee O'Leary era began at Imber Court with twenty-two players taking to the field for a pre-season game against Metropolitan Police.

After a bright start from the visitors, the Blues were soon into a two-goal lead - in the 9th minute, the referee ignored his assistant who was flagging for offside, K's defence stopped, Met's attack didn't, and finally Herson Alves rifled a shot home via a big deflection past K's goalkeeper Matte Pierson.

Three minutes later, Jack Strange was adjudged to have pushed a Met Police forward in the box, the referee pointed to the spot, Archy Taylor sent Matte Pierson the wrong way. To be polite, it's pre-season for the match officials as well...

Lee changed nine players at half-time, with only Kenny Beaney and Matte Pierson starting both halves - within 55 seconds of the re-start, Kingstonian were on the scoresheet when a through ball from Kwesi Ntim found Stephane Bombelenga, whose finish was emphatic from the edge of the area. The hosts re-took their two-goal lead with another fine through ball and superb finish in the 67th minute, four minutes later the welcome sight of Rob Tolfrey back between the sticks in a K's shirt became reality 

And so the lunacy begins again. The new league fixtures come out on Thursday, and then on Saturday we visit Beaconsfield Town for our second pre-season friendly of the campaign. Please note that kick-off is now at the earlier time of 1.00pm in the hope that we can avoid the worst of what is predicted to be an extremely warm day even by current standards.

Kingstonian first half team: Matte Pierson, Isaiah Jones, Geneiro Maragh, Daniel Pappoe, Jack Strange, Kenny Beaney, Kieron Cadogan, Simon Mensah, David Lopes, Dan Bennett, Fumnaya Shomotun.

Kingstonian second half team: Matte Pierson (Rob Tolfrey, 71m), Neville Rivelino, Jonathan Gjoshe, Cerny Ando, Kenny Beaney (Iker Noguera Leon, 66m), Kwesi Ntim, Jordan Wilson, Thomas Gogo, Lewis Pearch, Marcel Campbell, Stephane Bombelenga.

Goal scorers: Herson Alves (9m, 1-0), Archy Taylor (12m pen, 2-0), Stephane Bombelenga (46m, 2-1), Met substitute (67m, 3-1)

Published Tuesday 12th July 2022